You are here

About us

The Industrial Court of Queensland

The Industrial Court of Queensland (ICQ) is a superior court of record. The Industrial Court hears appeals on error of law or lack or excess of jurisdiction against decisions of the Queensland Industrial Relations Commission (the Commission), Industrial Registrar or Industrial Magistrates.

Members of the Court are:

President The Hon. Justice Glenn C. Martin AM
Vice President Vice President Daniel L. O'Connor
Deputy President Deputy President John W. Merrell

The President of the Court is also President of the Commission. The President may preside on a Full Bench of the Commission and, for certain matters, the Full Bench must include the President.

An appeal against a decision of a Full Bench which included the President lies to the Queensland Court of Appeal.

The court is the final appeal court for claims for unpaid wages and prosecutions under the Industrial Relations Act 2016 where the penalty does not exceed 40 penalty units.

The court is also the final appeal court for prosecutions under the Coal Mining Safety and Health Act 1999, the Petroleum and Gas (Production and Safety) Act 2004, and the Mining and Quarrying Safety and Health Act 1999.

The Industrial Court hears Appeals against decisions of the Commission as well as Industrial Magistrates regarding the Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 2003.

Appeals from decisions of Industrial Magistrates also include appeals under the Building and Construction Industry (Portable Long Service Leave) Act 1991 and the Private Employment Agents Act 2005.

The court may also order costs against a party to an application.

The Queensland Industrial Relations Commission

The Commission is an independent tribunal established to conciliate and arbitrate industrial matters in the State of Queensland. It is a court of record. Under current legislation, it derives its powers and functions from Chapter 11, Part 2 of the Industrial Relations Act 2016. The Commission plays a major role in contributing to the social and economic well-being of Queenslanders through furthering the objects of the Industrial Relations Act 2016 which are principally to provide a framework for industrial relations that supports economic prosperity and social justice.

Members of the Commission are the President, the Vice President, four Deputy Presidents and other Industrial Commissioners.

Members of the Commission are:

President The Hon. Justice Glenn C. Martin AM
Vice President Vice President Daniel L. O'Connor

Deputy Presidents

Deputy President John W. Merrell
Deputy President Deirdre A. Swan
Deputy President Adrian L. Bloomfield


Industrial Commissioner Glenys K. Fisher
Industrial Commissioner John M. Thompson
Industrial Commissioner Gary D. Black
Industrial Commissioner Minna L. Knight
Industrial Commissioner Samantha C. Pidgeon

The President is responsible for administration of the Commission and Registry, including allocation of matters, establishing industry panels for disputes, approving references to a Full Bench, and general conduct of Commission business.

Functions of the Commission

The Commission has powers and functions under various enactments:

View further information on the Jurisprudential Expense Allowance and Education and Conference Expense Allowance.

The Industrial Registry

The Registry provides administrative support to the Industrial Court of Queensland and the Queensland Industrial Relations Commission. Applications in the prescribed form in relation to matters to be dealt with by the Court, Commission or Registrar are filed in the Registry.

The Registry also plays an important role in administering the provisions of the Industrial Relations Act 2016 which govern the affairs of industrial organisations - their financial accountability and annual returns, applications to change their rules or requests for elections.

Registry staff cannot provide advice or comment on the merits of an application.

Business hours

Counter enquiries: 8.30am to 4.45pm (local time) Monday to Friday.

*Registry services are not available on public holidays.

Last updated 16 December 2018